McKesson UK announces Driver of the Year Winners

McKesson UK held its annual Driver of the Year Awards on Friday 27th September which recognises and celebrates the contribution of over 1,000 drivers from LloydsPharmacy, AAH and LloydsPharmacy Clinical Homecare.

Throughout the year, each driver is rated in a number of categories. These include, safe driving scores, customer feedback and “going the extra mile”. The top three drivers from each area of the business were then invited to the Driver of the Year Final at the Mallory Park Race Track in Leicestershire, where they competed in some fun challenges on the race circuit before final scores were calculated.

Ashley Cowen, Fulfilment Director at McKesson UK said: “The annual driver awards are an important part of the McKesson calendar, designed to recognise the people who deliver vital supplies and medicines every day. Our drivers provide an invaluable and reliable service in their local communities.”

The winners for 2019, each winning an Amazon Alexa, £300 in online vouchers and a trophy were:

  • AAH Van Driver – Damian Harris (Leeds)
  • AAH HGV Driver – Dave Bunn (Stoke)
  • LPCH Van Driver – Douglas Osbourne (Glasgow)
  • LloydsPharmacy Van Driver – Zeke Gura-Lowe (Southampton)
  • AAH Transport Manager – Mark Forge (Southampton)                                                                                                              


Mark Forge, from AAH Southampton, commented, “I have been with the business since I was 18 years old, accumulating over 30 years of service. I started in the warehouse as a picker before progressing to a driver for 23 years, winning 2 Driver of the Year Awards in 2009 and 2015. I was then asked to come off the road and join the transport team as a supervisor before being promoted to Transport Manager in 2017. Winning the first Transport Manager of the Year award is a real highlight of my career and I’m really grateful to the team I have working with me who help us achieve the results we do at Southampton”.

Throughout the day, attendees were treated to various motor-related experiences, from driving round Mallory Park Race Track in a Ford Mustang, to driving a 4×4 through trenches filled with mud and water. There was also a thrilling demonstration by Paul Swift, a professional stunt driver.

The event also included some practical activities for the drivers to take part in. Guests were invited to take on a “How’s my Driving” test which put their skills under the spotlight with a qualified driving instructor. Then, Leicestershire Fire and Rescue Service provided a useful demonstration a on vehicle extrication.

The event was topped off by an evening awards ceremony which was held at Bosworth Hall in Warwickshire. The finalists were treated to dinner and entertainment before the overall Driver of the Year winners were announced.

Ashley Cowen, commended the high standards of all the finalists: “It’s great to be able to celebrate the hard work of all our drivers across McKesson. It’s a real pleasure for me to be involved and for our drivers to have fun on the track whilst learning new skills. Congratulations to all our winners, who really raised the bar this year in terms of safe driving and delivering a great service to their local communities. In many ways, drivers are the face of our business, so they play a critical role in delivering excellence for our customers and patients. It’s really important to McKesson UK that we recognise their contribution.”