Celesio UK announces Driver of the Year

Celesio UK held its annual Driver of the Year awards on Friday 12th October at the Mallory Park Race Track in the Midlands.

The annual driver awards are an important part of the Celesio calendar to recognise the people who are responsible for delivering supplies and essential medicines. They interact with customers and patients every day, providing an invaluable service in their local communities.

A specially selected group of drivers from across the organisation – including AAH, LloydsPharmacy Clinical Homecare (LPCH), Betterlife and LloydsPharmacy – gathered to celebrate their outstanding contributions over the last year. Throughout the day they were treated to various motor-related experiences, from driving round Mallory Park Race Track in a brand new Ford Mustang, to watching a thrilling show with Paul Swift, a professional stunt driver.

As well as the fun elements, the day also included more practical elements, with Leicestershire Fire and Rescue Service demonstrating a vehicle extrication and lots of tips on safe driving. The evening award ceremony was held at Bosworth Hall in Warwickshire with dinner and entertainment before the overall Driver of the Year recipients were named.

Drivers are scored throughout the year, with emphasis on safe driving, customer feedback and “going the extra mile”. For example, many of the drivers deliver to patients’ homes and are ideally placed to spot if something is amiss and the patient needs assistance. The top three drivers from each area are then invited to the Driver of the Year event, where they compete in some fun challenges on the race circuit before final scores are calculated for each of the four overall categories.

The four overall winners for 2018, each winning an iPad, £300 in vouchers and a trophy are:

  • AAH Delivery – John Calvert, Gateshead
  • AAH HGV Delivery – Chris Perks, Tamworth
  • LloydsPharmacy Home Delivery & Betterlife Delivery – Susan Sankey, Warrington
  • LloydsPharmacy Clinical Homecare – Kayleigh Edge, Derby

Chris Perks, AAH HGV Delivery Driver of the Year winner, commented: “It was a shock to win at first, it was a fabulous day. Everyone here is a winner to have got to the same place.  I’m overwhelmed to have won the trophy, it’s been a quality day.  I’ve enjoyed it so much, I’d go back right now!”

Celesio UK operations director, Catherine McDermott, joined the drivers at the racing track and revealed the names of the winners at the evening event. She commended the high standards of all the finalists: “Driver of the Year is all about congratulating the hard work of all our drivers across the entire organisation. It’s a real pleasure for me to be involved and for our drivers to have fun on the track whilst learning new skills.

“Congratulations to all our winners, who really raised the bar this year in terms of safe driving and delivering medicines and supplies to our local communities. Drivers are a critical part of the overall service we provide to our customers and patients and acknowledging this is really important to Celesio UK.”