APTUK Awards – Honorary Membership for Celesio’s Andrew Morris


Andrew Morris, head of Celesio’s hospital services, has been granted an honorary membership into the Association of Pharmacy Technicians (APTUK), the professional leadership body for pharmacy technicians.

The award was introduced to enable the APTUK to acknowledge exceptional service given to the pharmacy technician profession by someone who isn’t a qualified technician.

Andrew’s membership was announced at the APTUK annual conference which took place in Glasgow on 17-18 June 2018.

Andrew was nominated for the award because of the work he’s done to support pharmacy technicians over the years, whether that’s been through coaching and mentoring individuals, or championing the profession as a whole. He has also been a regular host and sponsor of the APTUK annual conference.

Adele King, Celesio’s national healthcare development manager, was one of a number of people to nominate Andrew, and said: “Andrew empowers you to be the best technician you can… his hard work, dedication and care are contagious.”

The membership is awarded in recognition of the efforts of someone who has made a profound difference by either:

  • championing and upholding the professional role of pharmacy technicians;
  • publically supporting the continuing development of pharmacy technicians;
  • advancing the roles, knowledge, skills and behaviours of pharmacy technicians;
  • working consistently hard on behalf of pharmacy technicians.